La Negra Tiene Tumbao!

by Jackie

I wore a traditional Panamanian "pollera" for my Sweet 16 party.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I am extremely proud of my Afro-Latin0 heritage. Born in Panama, with roots all over the Caribbean, I’ve had the privilege of growing up in a culturally rich environment with family members as diverse as the United Nations. Today, Afro-Latinas grace magazine covers, television sets, and movie screens.  Here are just a few whose styles I admire:

Zoe Saldaña

The Puerto Rican and Dominican actress embodies femininity. Her look is often simple, yet elegant.

Rosario Dawson

Known for her effortlessly sexy style, the actress of Puerto Rican and Cuban descent, usually plays edgy and strong female leads.

Tatyana Ali

The Panamanian/Trinidadian actress has come a long way from Bel Air. I love her fun, yet classic, look.

Latinas are known for being passionate, fun, and vibrant.  Here is a look I created just for you!

Get the Look!

Black cap-sleeve dress, Macy’s, $60

Coral tucked-neck dress, Macy’s, $75

Rhinestone hoop earrings, Fantasy Jewelery Box, $35

Rocket dog pumps, Amazon.com, $45

Click here to have a “Club Cubicle” moment with me and get your Salsa on with Celia Cruz!

2 thoughts on “La Negra Tiene Tumbao!

  1. Pingback: What should I wear? «

  2. Pingback: Head-to-toe Summer! «

Leave a Reply

