Ten Things My Mother Taught Me About Style.

Far more influential than any fashion magazine, my mother remains my chief style guide.  Affectionately known as my momager, she’s always made sure that I looked my best, whether it was a school recital, family gatherings, and even interviewing for my first job.  In celebration of Mother’s Day, I thought I’d share with you some of the most important pieces of style advice my mami has given me.

  1. Confidence is key. My mother has always instilled in me a sense of pride that I could do whatever it is I wanted as long as I believed I could. When I was little, she would instruct me to walk with my head held high and my back straight.  You can’t look good if you don’t feel good about yourself.
  2. True style has nothing to do with the price of clothing. To this day, I will make an outfit out of Payless shoes, a Louis Vuitton bag, and a dress from New York & Company.  I was taught to not be a slave to labels.  “You wear the clothes,” my mom would say, “the clothes don’t wear you.”
  3. Fashionable =/= trendy. Fashion is about art and expression, and has nothing to do with what’s “In” or “Out” that week. What you wear should be an expression of who you are, not who designers say you should be.
  4. When you look good, you feel good. On a bad day, a good outfit will have you walk a little taller and feel a little better.
  5. Dress for the life you want, not the one you have. “Entry-level” is just a position, it’s not a definition of who you are.  Dress like you’re the boss.
  6. Be organized. If you do your laundry regularly, and organize your closet, you won’t end up wearing the same outfits all of the time.  You can see what you have and mix and match easier.  You should also get rid of anything that can’t fit or that you really don’t like. Don’t take up valuable closet space with garments that you will not wear.
  7. Size is just a number. Don’t buy clothes based on the number on the label.  A size 6 in one store will be a 4 in another or an 8 in yet another store.
  8. Invest in quality, not quantity. Being frugal does not mean being cheap. Sometimes quality items cost more, and if you want a stand-out piece that will stand the test of time, it will be worth every penny.
  9. Be yourself. There’s no one else who can be you as well as you can.  Your wardrobe should represent your personality. Incorporate your favorite colors and textures as much as possible. Turn your outfits into your signature look.
  10. Keep it classy. Don’t betray your dignity by dressing less than what you are. Employers, colleagues, even friends assess how much you care about yourself by your presentation.  Make sure they know you think highly of yourself.

Mother’s Day Runway!

*All photos were stolen from various sources including the archives of Maronel Stewart.


Mom looking A*cute in her office in NYC

Visiting DC.

Momager and Me!

Happy Mother’s Day!

4 thoughts on “Ten Things My Mother Taught Me About Style.

  1. Pingback: Recycled |

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Serenade: Trey Songz Concert |

  3. Pingback: Summer School |

Leave a Reply

