Campus Chic

 by Jackie 

 

My [not-so-little-anymore] sister Maronel is uber excited to start college in a few weeks; so much so, that she is already proudly sporting her GWU sweatshirt all over the place.   It was about eight years ago that I left the Bronx for DC, so I only got to see her on my visits home and I feel like I missed out on a lot.  I can’t wait until we’re in the same city!  

Her big move had me reminiscing on my days as a college-bound girl.  I had no idea what to expect.  I was nervous to leave home, yet excited to move to a new city on my own and experience all that college had to offer.  

Among many other pre-college discussions, my mom warned me against being sloppy: “Don’t get into that nasty habit of wearing your pajamas to class.”   

You can be comfy without being sloppy. A pair of nice-fitting jeans and a cardigan is the staple undergrad outfit. When picking out a school bag, make sure it's something sturdy that can fit your laptop and books. You don't want to be lugging things in your hands walking across campus to get to class all because you wanted to wear your pretty little purse. Chucks are my fave pair of sneakers. They will never do you wrong!

Get the look! 

You may think that your work study job is not that serious. But, it's the perfect training ground for your career. Use this opportunity to dress professionally and to meet as many university/college administrators and staff as possible. You never know whose path you may cross.

Get the look! 

   

 Congrats Maronel! I’m proud of you! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Maronel’s College List:
Soap, Shampoo, Conditioner, Face Wash, Lotion, Shower Cap, Loofa
Towels
Sheets
Blankets
Pillow
Windex, Lysol, & Clorox Wipes
Laundry soap & Laundry basket
Mesh hamper
Garbage
Desk light
Ear plugs
Power strip & Extension cord
Storage containers
USB
Alarm Clock
Planner
Iron & Ironing Board
Razors & Shaving cream
Band aids
Batteries
Desk calendar
Seat cushion
Cotton balls & Q tips
Eye drops
Febreze
Flashlight
Masking tape
Scotch tape
Glue
Mouse, Mouse pad, External keyboard, & Laptop stand
Neosporin
Toilet paper
Picture frame
Post-its
Bible
Brita water filter pitcher
Soap container
Plates, Bowl, Spoons, Forks, Knife, Cup, Mug
Scissors
Umbrella
Light vacuum
Vicks
Hand sanitizer
Whiteout
Basic school supplies (notebooks, looseleaf, paper clips, etc.)
Lock
Tupperware
Small sewing kit
Bath mats
Shower curtain & liner
Washcloths
Rollers
Hood dryer
3 thoughts on “Campus Chic

  1. I must give it to you, too Jackie. What a fantastic idea to write about your sister and encourage her as she begins this new chapter in her life (and yours), because now you will be able to bond even further as sisters and friends. What a marvelous experience await both of you and I can’t wait to see the results of what I know will be just a fantastic journey.

    Tia Esther could not be anymore proud of you ladies. GO GET THEM!!!!!!!!

    Much, much love to both of you lovely ladies.

    Tia Esther

  2. Gracias Tia Esther! I am so excited! Thank you as always for all of your support; it means a lot. Love you always and thanks for reading!

    Besos,
    Jackie

  3. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Serenade: Trey Songz Concert |

Leave a Reply

