Sequins: Is it suitable for work?

by Sherria

Is sequins suitable for work? My first answer, loud and clear would be “NO.” When I was in college I had a internship with the federal government as did other students in the DC area. One day I went into the office and saw one of the interns wearing a sequins top and capri pants. I wondered if she was going to the club after work. I wasn’t a sequins fan to begin with, but that day I was totally turned off of sequins. That is until last year when Jackie and I performed as backup singers to a Turner skit for an office party. We had to wear sequins dresses for the skit, which we purchased at Forever21 for under $20. Jackie decided to also wear the dress for a New Year’s party she attended. So, since 2008, I have started to warm up to sequins, but I still don’t find it appropriate for the office. However, I have found some sequin accessories that one may deem as office appropriate. Check it out below and let me know what you think.

 Office

1) Sequin Panel Tote (BananaRepublic.com, $180)

2) Juicy Couture Sequin Stripped Dame Bag (Zappos.com, $298)

3) Juicy Couture Sequin Zip Around Wallet (Zappos.com, $88)

4) Marbel Sequin Ballet Flat (BananaRepublic.com, $70)

Casual

Vince Sequin Sweatshirt (Barneys.com); Barrett Poppy Sneaker (Coach.com); Tucker Fur-Lined Hi Tops (topshop.com)

Leave a Reply

