An Open Letter to Amy Winehouse

by Sherria

Dear Amy,

 I’m sorry that it’s taken almost a week for me to acknowledge your death on my blog. However, you must understand that the life you lived was a blessing, an inspiration, and a curse.  The loss of you has caused a lot of heartbreak, but I’m glad the world could experience your gift. I didn’t meet you during the first round of your success, when your first album FRANK was released in 2004. It wasn’t until four years later, in 2008, when I had the opportunity to spend a year in your hometown,London. Who is this girl with all of the tattoos? Who’s that girl with the beehive hairdo’? Who is that girl with the powerful voice that everyone keeps talking about? It was you! AMY WINEHOUSE. I saw a poster of you everyday at the Harrow Tube Station where I lived, and everywhere throughout the city. My two favorite tunes from you are Valerie, the duet with Mark Ronson and Rehab from your album BACK TO BLACK. I’d play them everyday going to class or would hear them at a party. My classmate, Ade, was a huge fan of yours and he made me love you even more. Every time your song would come on in a club, he would hop out of his seat and start bopping around and singing your tunes. You made Europe go crazy, you made London adore you, and you made the US accept you. But now that you are gone, you’ve made the world MOURN you. As talented and beautiful as you were, you had demons inside of you and you couldn’t let go. Addiction is a disease; some see it as a curse. I see it as a quick road to death. As shocked as I was to hear that you passed, I couldn’t be too surprised because you’d been poisoning your body for years. Through the pain, through the struggle, I think your life can serve as an inspiration to others; to let your talent shine through and let go of deadly addictions before it’s too late. Sorry to see you leave, but your mark on this world isn’t going anywhere. You’ll live on through your music and the hearts you’ve touched while you are here on Earth. Good night darling.

 RIP Amy Winehouse (September 14, 1983 to July 23, 2011)

 

Leave a Reply

