Quick Meal: Testing My New Electric Wok

by Sherria 

Earlier last week, I received an Electric Wok as a gift. Last night I decided to give it a try, as I have never cooked in a wok before. Since I’ve been trying to eat healthy lately, my boyfriend’s mom suggested that I try making easy dishes such as Asian-inspired stir fry. Not only are stir fry dishes healthier than my usual comfort food, but they are great when you are on the go and don’t have a lot of time to spend in the kitchen. Follow me as I take you on my cooking journey. Don’t worry, it isn’t that long!

Presto Stainless Steel Electric Wok

The Wok: When the Wok arrived in the brown delivery box I didn’t know what to expect. I cut it open like it was a holiday present and saw what I call, a “fancy wok.” It has a stainless steel body and handles, a tempered glass cover, and Control Master heat control to ‘automatically maintain proper cooking temperature.’ Most importantly, I could cook my meal on the dining room table since it’s electric!

Ingredients: Chicken breast, Goya Wild Rice with Vegetables, Pepper Stir Fry Mix, Teriyaki Sauce

My 30-minute cooking journey:

I sliced the turkey breast into small pieces and set the frying pan to low heat. I sprinkled on tablespoon of olive oil and added salt, pepper, adobe, and cayenne pepper for flavor. I also put the rice and corn on the back burners.

I put the Pepper Stir Fry pack and a teaspoon of olive oil in the wok and set it to 250 degrees. It started cooking immediately. I didn't have to wait for the wok to "warm up." After five minutes, I added the teriyaki sauce to the pan.

Once the chicken was done cooking in the stove top pan, I added it to the stir fry mix and let it simmer for about 5 minutes. Total cooking and preparation time was about 25 minutes.

Finished Product:

Voila! My meal took less than 30 minutes and it was delicious.

Yes! I’m proud of myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

